top of page

Music to Vibe to : January Vibes

Recently I’ve been exploring new genres and I have stumbled upon Post Punk. Post Punk is a style of rock that is less aggressive than punk and more experimental. I’ve grown fond of a post-punk band named Lebanon Hanover. Despite being a newer band having been formed in 2010 they emit a sound that is reminiscent of the 80s. This month I wanted to share a few songs that I’ve been enjoying from this band in no particular order.


Oh by the way some of these songs are completely in German or a mix of both English and German.


By Carl Wheezer

January Vibes


Video

I believe you can survive(Elegy for the Introvert)

What stands out to me about this song is that the lyrics are quite intimate and written from the point of view of a silent observer.


The Last Thing

All I have to say is my man is vibing in the video, although it may seem at first that he can’t dance or he looks a bit goofy he’s feeling the music he’s just vibing.


Gallows Dance

The repetitive bass line and the eerie guitar riff make this song memorable and catchy. This song is half English and half German. The lyrics repeat in German in the second half of the song.


Northern Lights

I don’t have much to say about this song other than it’s just good.


Alien

This song is a bit gloomy but it's a good listen. The deeper vocals of William Maybelline and the lighter yet low voice of Larissa Iceglass contrast nicely.


Du Scrollst

The beat’s just bumpin on this track. This song is entirely in German and that’s partly why I like it. It’s so different to me but also in a way very familiar. German and English are very similar languages but I feel like German has a certain flair that English lacks.


- More by Carl Wheezer on: The Burr official Spotify Playlist.-


bottom of page