top of page

Netflix Recommendations

Top 5 Binge worthy shows to watch on Netflix right now


By your Netflix reviewer, Yamilux


Hello everyone, my name is Yamilux, From now on, I will be in charge of the Netflix Recommendations section (or another streaming service) providing you with the best TV shows and movies to watch while at home this year. I may not seem like I’m qualified to recommend you all TV shows/movies, but I am a Netflix fanatic who spent a large portion of her summer this year on Netflix, so I may know a thing or two about actual good TV and movies. Although I am the one writing this section, I would really love some suggestions from anyone willing to email or text me about what they want to see me write about. Whether you want me to write about the best Animes, Asian Dramas, Supernatural Shows, International Shows, Comedies, or Romances, I’ll write about it all. I will try my best to write without bias and ask other people about their opinions to add in my section when it comes to genres I’m not familiar with, but most of this will be my opinion/ recommendations. I hope you all actually take something from this and trust that I will give you actual good Netflix recommendations, I will try my best.






---------------Tip: click on title to watch official trailor! ------------------




First things first, if you haven’t watched ATLA then what have you been doing? There is a reason why the internet is so obsessed with this show at the moment, so why haven’t you watched it yet? This show, to put it simply, is about four nations of Air, Water, Earth, and Fire that lived in harmony until the Fire Nation declared war against all the other nations. This war caused neverending destruction that lasted for a century until the lost Avatar was found again. He then spent the next year training and traveling the world with his friends in order to end the war. This show not only has a good plot/story arcs/storyline, good character development, and memorable characters, but it’s versatile, it’s an entertaining show for all ages, you will enjoy this show if you’re 9, 15, 24, or 40.




The Haunting of Hill House does not get enough appreciation. This supernatural horror drama has an intricate plot that will definitely reel you in the beginning. It is about five siblings whose paranormal experiences they undergo while they lived in a famous haunted house called Hill House when they were younger. Now, years later they are brought together again because of a misfortunate event and are forced to confront their trauma from living at Hill House to piece together how everything came to be. A unique characteristic that this show has is that it alternates between two sets of timelines, the first timeline takes place right when the Crain family moves into Hill House while the second timeline takes place twenty-six years later once everyone has become adults. I honestly did not have great expectations for this show from the start, but this show is definitely binge worthy. When I decided to start watching The Haunting of Hill House I think I watched it in less than a day, it was that good. I can only see one bad quality in this show and that is because it only contains ten episodes, each about an hour, and there won’t be a second season. Although that was the end for The Haunting of Hill House, this show will have a follow up show called The Haunting of Bly Manor, which should be released/premiere on Netflix on October 9th of this year.




This show truly does not get enough hype. Released in December of 2016, this show should already be a fan favorite. I’d like to think that it is one of Netflix’s hidden gems if you don’t give it a chance. Even though the TV series does have an extremely confusing and slow beginning, things quickly pick up pace and everything makes sense once you give it a chance. This show is about a woman who suddenly resurfaces after going missing for seven years with strange scars and the ability to see (she was blind growing up). With a million questions to ask, the main character does not tell the police or her parents about her whereabouts the last seven years, but instead creates a group of four highschool students and a teacher to tell her stories to. I have got to admit before you watch this show, just know this show is and gets weird. I hope you all kind of ignore that (unless you’re into it) and please give it a shot, especially now since it’s second season just came out last year.




I am absolutely in love with this show, and you should be too! Unorthodox is a limited series/miniseries that was released on Netflix in late March of this year. Inspired by the 2012 autobiography, Unorthodox: The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots, it became the first Netflix series that has debuted primarily in Yiddish. This story is about a nineteen-year-old Jewish woman who is living in a unhappy marriage in the midst of an extremist Orthodox community located in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, New York. She then runs away to Berlin to try and discover life/herself outside of her tight knit community while looking for her mother. If this doesn’t convince you to watch it, then maybe the eight Emmy Award nominations can. It hasn’t even been half a year since it debuted and it’s already received eight Emmy nominations. I promise you that you won’t regret watching this, and you’ll actually desperately want another season by the time you finish watching it.




I was impressed by Sense 8 from the beginning when I read the description and saw the targeted ad on my Netflix home screen. Sense 8 is about eight strangers from different parts of the world who discover that they are mentally and emotionally linked. This show debuted in early June of 2015, which may make it seem like it’s not worth your time since it’s so old and probably had a bad production, but it isn’t any of that. This show definitely has a refreshing new concept/storyline that I haven’t seen before or up until now, and I hope that this fact impresses you instead of makes you weary of watching. I think the thing that made me enjoy Sense 8 the most was the fact that it linked people from all over the world, I absolutely loved the diversity that was included. I may be a little biased talking about this show since I personally am really into the “sci-fi, advanced tech” genre, but it’s not all about their strange link to each other or ”power”. This show is definitely a lot more than that and focuses more on the relationships everyone builds with each other just from being linked. I hope that if you’re going to watch any show from this list, you choose this one.


bottom of page