top of page

✾ The Optimistic Pod ✾

"The way I see it: if you want the rainbow, you gotta put up with the rain."


By BuzzBuzz Billy Bobby Jr.





For the first time, at least since school began, I felt an overwhelming amount of pressure during October. With so many deadlines and assignments (in and out of school), I began to feel very claustrophobic of all the things that were being required of me. It wasn't good for me mentally, but looking back at it now after everything has been completed, I feel a giant relief. Through and through I was able to accomplish everything I had set myself out to do and exceeded my expectations. And I think that's why a lot of the people I know and myself work so hard to get things done and achieve even the simplest goals. It's that feeling of accomplishment, integrity, and perseverance that allows us to go above and beyond and break the barriers that exist in society.


From a meeting this week with a Chinquapin Alumni, I gained a different perspective about the moments when I feel super overwhelmed. I was expressing how I had been feeling and they told me an inspirational, or at least to me, quote from their therapist who said: "If you're going through Hell, go through it. Because the longer you stay in Hell, the longer you prolong your suffering." And it's true in every way possible. So, right now whether you are in a peaceful state of mind, panicking over your upcoming exam, or even just doing the best that you can, I encourage you to remember the reasons why you are working, stressing, and feeling the way you feel.


It only takes a second to step back from a situation and reflect on it to better yourself and the second you stop doing that, you instantly change the course of your life.


You're doing amazing things, sweetie and if no one has told you that, let it be known that I am proud of you! Until next time, toodles!


bottom of page